Information Technology

The Department of Information Technology was started in the year 2008-2009 to offer B.Sc.(Information Technology) programme with a sanctioned strength of 50. The programme aims at providing a strong foundation for the future IT professional with a judicious mix of theory papers and as well as language papers. To enable the students to have exposure to software development, the course also includes a project work as part of the curriculum during the sixth semester. The department offers M.Phil. in Computer Science.


The IT lab has 40 number of Pentium machines connected to Windows NT, Novell Netware, and Linux servers. Internet facility is provided with 10 lines of 512Kbps broadband connectivity through the NME-ICT scheme of the MHRD, Govt. of India. Power conditioning is done through 7.5 KVA online UPS with 2 hours battery backup, apart from normal mains supply.

  • Ms. S. Sangeetha, M.C.A., M.Phil.,                                                                                             (Head)
  • Mr. M. Inbavel, M.C.A., M.Phil.,
  • Ms. P. Sangeetha, M.C.A.,
  • Ms. C. Poornima, M.Sc., M.Phil.,


To keep the students abreast of current topics, quiz programmes, and periodic seminars by academicians and Industry experts are arranged. Career guidance programmes and Personality development programmes are also arranged. Every year the department organizes intra-departmental competitions TECHCOM and PAPERFEST to nurture their presentation skills, debugging skills and organizing skills. Every year the students undergo a study tour to enhance their knowledge. The Department provides intensive training on VB.NET, CCNA and Multimedia as ADD-ON Courses. The department releases a bi-monthly news bulletin The Vasavi IT,.

S.No. Name Year Rank
1 S. Anuparvathy 2010-2013 3
2 B. Suganya 2011-2014 7